What I did after the MBA

11 Mar

It’s been a while since I did a blog post, so I thought I should really write a quick update on what I’ve been up to since finishing the MBA last September.

So I was trying to get my own little start-up idea going, but, as I’d already blogged about, I was rapidly running out of runway. Then, seemingly out of the blue, via a classmate, LinkedIn and Skype, an opportunity came along that was too good to turn down.

If I could describe my ideal job (if I was not starting my own company), it would probably be something along the lines of “working for an investment fund, helping them start Internet companies”.

…so I am now Venture Development Director at Rocket Internet, helping them start their Internet companies in the UK. I think that worked out quite well then. 🙂

Rocket Internet has a particular reputation and it’s fair to say it divides opinion. Its critics describe it as a “clone factory”. Here’s a recent article in Wired, “Inside the clone factory“, where one of the fund’s founders gives a rare interview. Make you own mind up.

All I can say is – it’s fascinating being on the inside. I cannot imagine it would be possible to get a better lesson in Internet startup execution. Even Rocket’s most vocal critics would be hard-pressed to deny Rocket are masters of execution.

So does that mean I’ve abandoned my own entrepreneurial ambitions? Of course not! Sometimes it only takes an unexpected spark of inspiration to get me thinking about it all again. What I do know, is that I ever do get back in to another startup of my own, I will be immeasurably better as an entrepreneur thanks to the Rocket experience.

One Response to “What I did after the MBA”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. London the Primate City « The wannabe VC - April 5, 2012

    […] Berlin, where my direct employers are actually based, is itself considered a bit of a European startup hub, I never get the feeling that it dominates […]

Leave a Reply

